Healing Uses of Chakras

  • Topic Info:Have you ever heard someone say, "My chakras are so out of alignment"?

    What does that mean?

    Chakras are energy points within your body, which energy flows through at all times.

    This energy can be negative and positive; but the goal is to release the negative energy and invite in the positive energy to create an environment for spiritual, mental, emotional and physical well-being.

    There are seven chakras, and each relate to a different area of your body.

    You want them to be vibrating at their highest level so you can bring in that positive spiritual energy at all times.

    However, as you move through life most of your chakras are not at this high level; they have rough edges, their light is dim. That's why it is so important to be in tune and in touch with your chakras daily.

    What are the seven chakras?

    The first chakra is the root chakra; it's located near your tailbone and is ruby red in color. It deals with feeling safe in the world. Whatever has happened in your lifetime that made you feel not safe, you must release from that chakra.

    The second, located in your lower abdomen, is bright orange and deals with sex, money and oftentimes security issues from childhood.

    The third, located in your upper abdomen, is yellow. This chakra is your power center: your power in the world. It is also thought of as the "second brain," which can bring in other people's information on how you "should be." This can result in negative energy, which needs to be released.

    Fourth is your heart center, which is emerald green and involves self-love and loving other people. You can have so many "hurts" from being rejected in this chakra, so you need to learn to forgive yourself and other people.

    The fifth chakra is the located in your throat and is turquoise in color. This chakra deals with self-expression; not only sexually and physically, but also verbally. It is also the chakra of abundance. If you're having money problems, or self-expression problems, you need to release those blocks of "I'm not good enough," or "Even if I express myself I still won't be heard," or "I don't deserve the money," and make room for inviting in the abundance and acceptance.

    The sixth chakra is what's referred to as your third eye. It's located on your forehead, between your eyes, and is indigo in color. This is your intuitive, psychic center. You need to bring in the indigo light in order to bring in a higher consciousness and enlightened spiritual energy.

    Finally, the top of your head is your crown chakra and it represents universal consciousness and your highest spiritual self. This chakra connects with all your chakra systems to light them up.

    When you get your chakras in alignment and in congruity with one another, each one works off of one another.

    For example, your heart center needs the foundation of the bottom chakras to achieve its full ight.

    How can you release the negative energy and invite the positive energy in, in order to align your chakras to their fullest light?

    Alteta St. James, often referred to as the "Indiana Jones of the Soul," joins Andrea and Lisa to discuss what chakras are, how they affect different areas of your spiritual, mental, emotional and physical health, and how you can learn to bring them into alignment for optimal well-being.
  • Book Title: Life Shift: Let Go and Live Your Dream
  • Host: Andrea Donsky, RHN and Lisa Davis, MPH