Selected Podcast

Agony of Grief: How to Deal with the Loss of a Loved One

Agony of Grief: How to Deal with the Loss of a Loved One
Death is inevitable, but coping with the loss of someone you love isn't something for which you can ever fully prepare yourself.

You'll experience a whirlwind of emotions that are considered to be "normal." Unfortunately, they can still be debilitating.

People says things to you when you have experienced a loss like, "The pain will go away faster when you ignore it," or "You need to be strong in the face of a loss." But everyone grieves differently, and ignoring your emotions and not allowing yourself to respond to them is definitely not the way to deal with them.

There are five stages of grief that people generally experience with death, although it can sometimes feel like a roller-coaster of emotions:
  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance
When coping with grief, it's important to find support to help you through this tough time and to not forget to also take care of yourself.

Michelle King Robson and Dr. Pam Peeke have both lost their fathers. The women share the healthy ways they found to help deal with the pain.